On the first days of classes…

It is Saturday, the second weekend after the new term started. And I already feel like freaking out…

My intention was to read all the books (fiction and plays only, of course) for this semester before my classes start, so it won’t be such a hassle and I could primarily focus on all my assignments and stuff. Unfortunately, nothing ever ends up as we planned it, right? Right! By day one, I have not had read one single book on my list. But then, I still got plenty of time… 😉

My first week started pretty well, actually. Two of my classes got cancelled and most of the rest was just of introductory and organizational matter. Yay! I only have one class on Mondays, which basically means traveling for about 3.5 hours and sitting in class for 90 minutes. Double yay!
On Tuesday, my morning-seminar got cancelled so I took the time to go pick up an essay. They sent me an email during the holidays that I gotta pick it up at the German Department’s secretary. Why the German Department? I don’t know… The secretary didn’t know either… The professor who corrected the essay is lecturing there, but I most certainly did not take any classes there. Anyways, I was there at about 11.30, their office hours are 9 to 12. When I finally found the right door (so many doors!), there was a post-it sticking to it, telling me that whoever will “be right back”. Seriously?! You’re supposed to be there for three hours a day, but you have to leave right then?! I still had like half an hour until I met with some friends for lunch, so I decided on waiting there for another few minutes. When the lady finally got back, she told me that she didn’t have my essay, but she thinks she knows where it was, so “let me just make a phone call”. Okay. Glad that she found the right person responsible for this, she sent me two floors up to another secretary, who actually had it! It took me like two minutes to photocopy the thing, after waiting for almost half an hour…!
Other than that, I started pretty well into the new term and since I know I’ll be going home again in summer makes life much easier these days. I think I already dropped a hint in another post that I applied for a more artsy school back in V, and after two very successful interviews in January, I got accepted! So stoked that I’ll be part of that magical team! But then, that’s another story. 😉

My first assignment: I was supposed to write something about British politics. That’s all we got: write two main body paragraphs on any topic concerned British (or American) politics. The paragraphs should each be around 150 words in length. Well, that’s not it, actually, there was some more information about what writing techniques we should use and so on. But seriously, I can not work like this! Gimme a f***ing topic!! So I did some research, found a topic, wrote a few lines. But I still couldn’t find a thesis statement, which is like the most important thing there is when writing stupid shit like this. Excuse my language. After wasting my precious time with writing that assignment (seriously, it took me like half a day – usually, I’m done after an hour or two…), I still had to finish reading Frankenstein. L.O.V.E. that book! And once more I realized how far-fetched some of the interpretations and reviews out there in the wide world web are. (As this is one of my picks for the “50 Book Pledge”, you can read my review on it shortly)
And now here it comes, the worst part of last week: I missed the 85th Academy Awards!! How much more misery do you want to throw in my way, you stupid life?! The reason why I didn’t post anything like I promised in my post on the Golden Globes is simply that I was sound asleep during the Oscars. Friggin’ time difference did not allow me to stay up all night and be all awake and cheerful in class the next day. My apologies for that. Not that I am ever cheerful in class, but still…

Luckily, I got to catch up on everything and I already finished almost all that I’m supposed to hand in or have to have read for next week’s classes. Because I’ve been suffering from terrible headaches all day long, I decided on just reading and enjoy an idle Saturday. Gotta finish Jane Eyre till next Tuesday. Since it’s pretty easy reading and quite catching, I might even manage to finish my readings before the lecture! *wow* (note: this does not happen very often…)

So now I’m being a tiny little bit miserable – mainly just because the world seems to hate me sometimes (and I hate it back, fair ’nuff! 🙂 ). And what do people like me do whenever they’re miserable? Right, they spend hours and hours on youtube (or get a venti something from Starbucks, but there’s no Starbucks anywhere near me). 😉 *Oh sweet procrastination* So far, I’ve been watching like a ton of make up tutorials and now I’m listening to old school rock music. Blame me for my style of music or for my love for the seventies, eighties and nineties rock – I don’t give a shit cuz I was born in the eighties, baby! Additionally, I’m just a small-town girl, living in a lonely world…. You know… 😉

While I was absent from my blog, I have been very productive, believe it or not! 😀 As I was testing the very favored BB Cream, I finally sticked to the product by Garnier, as one of my readers suggested I’d use. And just like my dear reader, I love this product! It produces a fabulous finish and combined with a hint of pressed powder, my skin looks all fresh and (almost) flawless. Plus: it smells really nice!

Now this is pretty much all that I can tell of my first two weeks of classes. I hope for you, my dear reader, that my life will get a little more exciting with the approach of spring!
Until then, happy reading and don’t forget to subscribe! 😉
xoxo

Leave a comment